THRIFT SHOP MAVEN

Thrifted dress, sample sale shoes.
I’m fresh from a rewarding excursion to my favorite local thrift stores. I’m partial to Goodwill, but I always find great things at Salvation Army and Housing Works as well (like my most recent purchase, a vintage Yves Saint Laurent Rive Gauche pea green blazer). Unfortunately, my camera is currently broken, so until I can provide pictorial evidence, I thought I would share some thrifty shopping tips. It seems like almost daily that someone asks me,
Where do you get your clothes?
or
How do you afford them?
For those of you who know me, you know that I purchase 60-70% of my wardrobe secondhand. (The rest I find at sample sales, discount stores, eBay, e-tailers, and some retail and department stores, usually on sale.)
The question that usually follows is,
How do you find such good stuff at thrift stores?
Here are a few things to remember while searching through racks of pit-stained athletic tees and holey sweats:
1. Patience is a virtue. This is probably the most important thing about shopping secondhand. It takes extra time and energy to find something great, but, in the end, it is worth the money saved. I’ve found so many lovely things with the retail tags still attached! It just takes a bit of dedication.
2. Take risks. Since you are paying pennies on the dollar of the retail price, don’t be afraid to try something you wouldn’t normally buy. Some of my thrifted impulse purchases are the best things I own!
3. Don’t be afraid to go vintage. I often hear from friends, “Everything at the thrift store is so old.” Sometimes the best things are vintage! First, the likelihood of someone else wearing the same thing are much slimmer, and you can often find more daring pieces than you would at retail stores. Also, I happen to know that many contemporary designers copy vintage designs stitch for stitch!
4. Become handy with a sewing machine or befriend someone who is. You’ll be able to find many more bargains if you or someone you know can make repairs/alterations. It’s also fun to rework thrifted pieces (like adding studs to a vintage tee or overdying a cardigan).
5. Don’t limit yourself to one department. In the past, I’ve found awesome shrunken blazers in the little boys’ department and great worn-in Levi’s in the men’s department. Also, try a variety of sizes, especially if you are searching for a specific fit.
Most importantly, maintain an open mind! Everything I’ve said here can be applied to housewares as well. Just ask my thrifty Aunt–she’s outfitted many a room in DIY fixer-upper furniture from the junk store, and my wallet and apartment thank her.
I love hearing about others’ secondhand steals as well!
What are some of the best things you’ve found at a thrift store?
This entry was posted in SHOPPING, VINTAGE. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to THRIFT SHOP MAVEN

  1. Laura says:

    I agree with your tips it's what I do. I of late have not been as daring as I want to be.( I must improve that) I have found many pretty. basic and amazing vintage pieces DVF, Escada, Oscar de Lorenta, Empario Aramani, Liz Claiborne, and so much more… And about 80% of my current wardrobe is thrift. the rest is big box and specialty chain store stuff, and designed and made by me. I can't wait to see your YSL pea coat it sounds awesome!!!

Leave a comment